Education Council

On 13 December 2013, the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) agreed to streamline the Ministerial Council system. Eight Councils are now responsible to COAG and will be engaged in work requiring COAG’s attention.

The COAG Education Council provides a forum through which strategic policy on school education, early childhood and higher education can be coordinated at the national level and through which information can be shared, and resources used collaboratively, to address issues of national significance. 

Terms of Reference
To download a copy of the Education Council's Terms of Reference approved by COAG in November 2015 click here

Further information in relation to the COAG Council structure can be accessed at:

Latest News

The report on the Productivity Commission inquiry into the National Education Evidence Base has been released. The report can be found on the Productivity Commission website.
Education Council 18 May 2017 Communique
18 May 2017: Education Council meeting communique
NCCD 2016: data and quality improvement report
17 May 2017: Education Council released the 2016 NCCD data and quality improvement report
Education Council 7 April 2017: Communique
Education Council 7 April 2017 - Communique released