Chairing cycle

The Education Council's Chairing (and Deputy Chairing) arrangements follow a 9-year cycle.
Chairing is as follows:

2019 Australian Government
2020 Victoria
2021 Western Australia
2022 New South Wales
2023 Australian Capital Territory
2024 Queensland
2025 Northern Territory
2026 Tasmania
South Australia

The Honourable Dan Tehan MP, Australian Government Minister for Education, is the current Chair of the Education Council.

Chairing for the Australian Education Senior Officials Committee (AESOC) follows the same cycle as Education Council. Dr Michele Bruniges, Secretary, Australian Government Department of Education and Training, is the current Chair of AESOC.


Council of Australian Governments (COAG):

Australian Curriculum Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA):

Australian Children’s Education and Care Quality Authority (ACECQA):

Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership (AITSL):

Education Services Australia (ESA):